J.A Bayona
J.A Bayona
Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
Date of Birth
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Born in Barcelona, J.A. BAYONA (Directed by) grew up with a passion for film. He studied directing at the Escola Superior de Cinema i Audiovisuals de Catalunya (ESCAC).

After directing two short films, Mis Vacaciones and El hombre Esponja, Bayona met screenwriter Sergio G. Sánchez, who gifted him with the script for The Orphanage, which became his first feature as director. The Orphanage had its world premiere at the 2007 Cannes Film Festival to a 10-minute standing ovation. It was then released nationally in Spain, and its opening four-day box office was the highest of the year and at the time the second-highest ever for a Spanish film.

The Orphanage was nominated for 14 Goya Awards, and it won seven including Best New Director for Bayona.

His second feature film was The Impossible, which starred Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor and Tom Holland. It was based on the powerful true story of a family’s survival of the tragic Indian Ocean tsunami in 2004. The Impossible grossed more than $180 million at the worldwide box office and brought Watts Golden Globe, Screen Actors Guild and Academy Award® nominations. Holland received honors including an Empire Award for Best Male Newcomer. The Impossible won five Goya Awards, including Best Director, and six Gaudí Awards, including Best Director.

Bayona’s most recent feature film as director was A Monster Calls, which starred Lewis MacDougall along with Sigourney Weaver, Felicity Jones and Liam Neeson. This visually spectacular and stunningly emotional drama was based on the award-winning novel.
A Monster Calls won nine Goya Awards, including Best Director, and eight Gaudí Awards.
Prior to making A Monster Calls, Bayona directed the first two episodes of Showtime’s series Penny Dreadful, which starred Eva Green and instantly attracted a loyal following.
In 2013, Bayona was distinguished with the National Prize of Cinematography, being the youngest person to receive this award. He recently received two other awards: The Retrospective Award in the Festival of Malaga as well as CinemaCon’s International Filmmaker of the Year Award, which was presented to him by Frank Marshall.